Correcting a rather big mistake: In my opinion, Professor Hoffmann was responsible for seventeen card-game booklets, NOT sixteen . . .

In an earlier post, I explained in excruciating detail why I believed that Professor Hoffmann wrote sixteen card-game booklets.  Now you might or might not agree with the reasoning I set forth there.  But according to the reasoning set forth there, there are no two ways about it–the correct number is seventeen, not sixteen.

How did this come about?  Well, for some reason, I completely failed to mention Hoffmann’s Quinto booklet.  Actually, this is a kind of thinking malady that I probably fall prey to fairly often.  For example, if I were to sit down and list all of Professor Hoffmann’s magic books, I might leave out one or two.  And then it might turn out that the one I omitted was (say) King Koko–a semi-obscure, but really quite well-known item.  I probably would not forget Modern Magic, though!

In some ways, it is a little weird that I would omit Quinto, because the booklet is almost an obsession of mine.  That might be a bit of an overstatement.  These days, I am almost reconciled to the probability that I will never own a copy of it.

I have never seen a copy of it, but I have heard of maybe three copies having changed hands, so it is not non-existent.  However, I cannot point to the location of any copy of the booklet in private hands.

There are two other Professor Hoffmann booklets I have never seen:  Bridge Varieties, and also Hearts, Heartsette, and Ombre.

—Tom Sawyer

October 10, 2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.