Further comments on Ernest Bergholt: A discussion of his name . . .

In an earlier post, I presented some suggestion of my admiration for Ernest Bergholt.  From what I gather, he was the Isaac Newton of games.  I expect that this will be the first of a series of posts relating to Bergholt.  In this post, I intend to discuss Bergholt’s name.

In a great many places on the internet, Bergholt’s name is shown as Ernest George Binckes Bergholt.  I am not certain the degree to which such references are independent of each other, but I suspect that many of them have an ultimate common origin.  That is, I have no idea on what source or sources that name is based.  When one considers the paucity of information that is readily available on Bergholt, it is not necessarily a good idea to assume that the foregoing name is what appeared on Bergholt’s birth certificate.

Alumni Catabrigienses (on Google in a “Snippet view,” and I’m not sure of the edition or date) seems to list him as, “BINCKES, ERNEST GEORGE (alias ERNEST BERGHOLT).

A Register of Admissions to King’s College Cambridge 1850-1900, compiled by John J. Withers (London, 1903), has a listing for Ernest George Binckes, as follows:

In a book called Richelieu, by B. Zeller (London, Paris, and Boston, 1884), the editor, Henri Testard, makes reference to an Ernest G. Binckes, and I believe that it is entirely possible, and perhaps quite likely, that his reference is to our Ernest Bergholt.

—Tom Sawyer

November 4, 2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.