Placing a booklet into perspective: Further comments on Ernest Bergholt’s “Royal Spades or Lily Auction Bridge,” published by Goodall — a brief discussion of the Third Edition . . .

In an earlier post, I discussed Ernest Bergholt’s Royal Spades or Lily Auction Bridge.  I like to think that my copy is of the first edition, but it could be the second edition.  (But for purposes of this post, I am assuming that it is a first, because that streamlines the discussion.)

In fact, though, by the year 1923, there were at least five editions in all.  In my collection I have the possible first edition, which I dealt with in the post just mentioned, and I also have a “Third Edition,” and a “Fourth Edition” as well.

That more or less accounts for the first, second, third, and fourth editions.  I can also vouch for a Fifth Edition, based upon a booklet now on eBay, described in essence as a Fifth Edition, 1923. Here is a link to that auction.

It would not surprise me if the Fifth Edition is the same as the Fourth Edition, other than the designation of edition and the different date, the date being 1922 on my Fourth Edition.  There may be later editions as well.  I do not expect to say more about the Fifth Edition (and possible later editions) in this post.

All of that having been said, I will begin with a brief discussion of a copy of the Third Edition.  The first thing noticeable about the Third Edition is that its title is very different from that of the first edition.  You can see (a) the cover title, and (b) the title-page title below.  I suppose that a legitimate way of stating the title of the Third Edition would be Royal Spades or Lily Auction Bridge, and Royal Auction Bridge.  The inside front-cover lists it as Royal Spades or Lily Auction Bridge & Royal Auction Bridge, which probably works, though neither the cover nor the title page uses an ampersand in the title.

If you are industrious, you may wish to compare the table of contents shown below, to the table of contents shown in the earlier post.  From what I gather, and I have not compared them meticulously, the first forty-some pages are probably the same (or quite similar) as in the first edition.  But starting on page 44, some material is deleted (several pages).  The reason for the deletion is shown in the scan of page 44, below.  It is interesting to see Bergholt’s reference to “the two preceding editions of this work.”  (After the image, I mention other changes.)

Next follows a discussion of the Nullo Call, on pages [45] and 46, in a section entitled, “Nullos.”  (See image above.)

The rest of the text is almost solely devoted to New York laws of 1913 (pages [47]-73) and English laws of 1914 (pages [74] through 104).  The English laws are included as an Appendix, and page [74] has an introduction that was probably written by Bergholt.  For that matter, a brief note at the beginning of the New York laws was probably by Bergholt.

At 104 pages, the booklet under discussion has to be one of the longest card-game booklets published by Goodall.

Below are a few images:

In a future post, I’ll discuss the Fourth Edition.  It is quite different from the Third Edition, in both the title and the contents.

Note:  I just noticed that I stated without qualification, “In a future post, I’ll discuss the Fourth Edition.”  I usually like to put, “I hope to,” or “I expect to,” or “perhaps I will.”  I suppose I do that for several reasons.  First, I may change my mind, or lose sight of my intention.  At the same time, I see everything that happens as being subject to the will of God, and frequently his plans conflict with ours!

—Tom Sawyer

November 10, 2012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.