A thought on the “Lieut. Bougher” pen-name . . .

I got to thinking a little more about the Lieut. Bougher pen name.  This idea may have been inspired by something my daughter mentioned to me a couple of weeks ago, regarding something her present English teacher had said.  I think it had to do with something by Shakespeare.  It involved, as I recall, a play on words.

Anyway, I thought, “What if ‘Bougher’ is some kind of play on words.”

So, I searched on Google for:

bower euchre

Bingo!

Now, I know basically nothing about the game of Euchre.  But the top listing on Google was the Wikipedia article on the game.  It turns out that the term “bower” or “bowers” is used twenty-seven or so times in the course of the article.

The second sentence reads:  “It is the game responsible for introducing the joker into modern packs; this was invented around 1860 to act as a top trump or best bower (from the German word Bauer, “farmer”, denoting also the jack).”

Now some of you may say, “Hey, all that was obvious!”

However, it wasn’t obvious to me!

Right or wrong, I am quite pleased with myself.

—Tom Sawyer

November 27, 2012

12:07 a.m.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.