More comments on “rounded” corners and “square” corners on certain Goodall booklets . . .

Note:  See the next post.  I don’t think the theory stated below is a very good one.  –Tom

Note:  In this post, I discuss a possible reason why some Goodall covers have rounded corners, and others have square corners — among the Goodall booklets that have an “outer covering” beyond the usual “card” cover.  In the previous post, I tried to turn the question of “why there were square corners” into a guessing-game.  If you want to try to figure out what “my” suggested reason is, YOU SHOULD NOT READ THIS POST YET!  Instead, you should read the preceding post first!

Before I continue, here is a “hint,” or clue.  If you don’t want the clue, you should not read any farther at this time.  Instead, go back to the preceding post.

Here is the clue:  Those who are familiar with size of certain Goodall “patience” cards will probably have an easier time figuring out what my theory is.

That is the end of the clue.

All right, then.  Here is my theory, and it could be wrong!  Or it could be partially right.

In the preceding post, I indicated that the rounded corners might make it easier to slide a booklet back into its sleeve.  The following image, from an earlier post, shows examples of the sleeves.  (However, obviously, the booklet covers do not have “outer covers.”  This was often the case.)

inside-of-box-draw adj 1 17 13 Thur

Now, in a huge, sprawling set such as the one pictured, there is plenty of room to include two booklets, side-by-side, the long way.

Actually, I am kidding about the “huge, sprawling” part.  For the most part, when I receive a game-set in the mail, I am shocked at the diminutive size of the set.  The sets mainly seem quite tiny.

But some are bigger that others.  Patience cards are often (maybe always) smaller than typical cards.  Below is an image of the box and booklet I recently received:

Pat box book 1 17 13_0003 blog

I wanted to scan the interior of the box, with the booklet on top of the other contents, but the lid of the box does not open wide enough for that.  But if I open the box, I can place the booklet flat on top of the two (side-by-side) packs of small cards.  The booklet fits very nicely inside the box, with very little extra room.

And this is the key point:  rounded corners would have served no purpose.

So, my theory is that, in general, certain patience booklets would not have had rounded corners, while other sets would tend to have rounded corners on the booklets, at least when a sleeve was used.  Again, this only applies where an outer cover was to be used.  (Part of my theory, though, is that there would be many exceptions to this.)

—Tom Sawyer

Thursday, January 17, 2013

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.