An interesting difference between two copies of the “Thirteenth Edition” of “Bridge,” by Professor Hoffmann . . .

I hope to discuss the Thirteenth Edition of Bridge, by Professor Hoffmann, in more detail in a future post.  For this post, I want to focus on one aspect of the title pages of two different copies.

First, below is an image of a portion of the title page of an example in Mike Goodall’s collection:

bridge booklet (red cover) Mike Goodall cropped 1 19 eo titles

Next, below is an image of a portion of the title page from a copy in my collection.

Bridge 13 1 18 13 cropped eo titles ts

There are other differences between the two booklets that are more important, but I did not want the foregoing distinction to be lost.

I assume that you can see in what principal respect the two differ.

But, just to be plain, I will state it here.  In Mike’s copy, there is no comma after the word “Baccarat.”  (In my copy, there is a comma.)  Also, and probably related to that, there is more space (in Mike’s copy) before the “t” in “Baccarat.”

Just what the significance of this is, I do not know.  Maybe none, other than being something interesting.

Mike’s copy actually bears a title-page date in 1906, while mine shows a 1905 date.  One might have assumed anyway that Mike’s was later, largely because it “looks” a little less satisfactory, and it would be logical that a title page (typically) tends to look worse, not better, as time goes on.

If I had to guess, I might guess that later title pages for that booklet tended to omit the comma.

After writing the foregoing, I just checked an Eighteenth Edition, 1909, and it has the comma, so that guess in the previous sentence is probably wrong.

—Tom Sawyer

January 19, 2013

About 270 words.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.