Update on my forthcoming bibliography of Professor Hoffmann’s card-game booklets . . .

Well, my work on the book is now basically finished. I am now involved in proofreading. (I am also prevailing upon my daughter Elizabeth to do some proofreading.) Since this will be (I believe) a softcover printing, it is likely that from this point on things will move rather quickly.

Below are examples of a few pages (as they now stand).  First, though, I’ll show the present design for the front and back covers. This may stay the same as it now is, but there is a good chance it will change a little, or possibly a lot. The cards depicted date from before Hoffmann’s earliest booklet, but they look so awesome, I still might keep them in the design.

Until recently I was considering obtaining a pack of Goodall’s Historic Playing Cards and affixing a card to the front of each book.  I had a number of ideas along those lines.  I might still do that, or something like it. Or I might affix a card to the interior of 52 of the copies, and that could make them almost like “numbered” copies. I may like that idea better Or I might just do none of those things!

Format will be 5.5 inches by 8.5 inches.

Front cover:

Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 1.17.22 AM.png

Back cover (corrected 7 13 17):

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.55.26 PM.png

 

Contents page:

Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 11.19.20 PM copy bq.jpg

Beginning of entry for Rubicon Bézique:

Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 11.31.22 PM copyaaa.jpg

—Tom Sawyer

July 12, 2017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.