A little more on “The Bijou Hoyle” . . .

Here are a couple more relevant images. The Bijou Hoyle consisted basically of the texts of the Warne’s Bijou Books on the topics of (a) Whist; (b) Cribbage and dominoes; and (c) chess. (The capitalization may look strange in that sentence, but I like to capitalize the names of specific card-games [but not classes of card games, like patience games or round games]; and it does not seem right to capitalize “dominoes,” or (especially) “chess.”)

As I mentioned before, the Whist book in the Warne’s Bijou Books series appears to be quite scarce. I think the other two are more plentiful. At any rate, I have copies of the other two, though not first editions.

I’m not going to include a lot of discussion in this post.  I think the images are pretty self-explanatory.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 11.16.22 PM.png

Warne copy adj.jpg

The playing card is shown in order to demonstrate the scale.

Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 11.22.18 PM.png

I don’t know what game this couple is playing, but it does not appear to be Cribbage:

Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 11.31.05 PM.png

—Tom Sawyer

August 11, 2017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.